Skip to Content

Opening Hours

Today7.00am - 9.00pm
Monday7.00am - 9.00pm
Tuesday7.00am - 9.00pm
Wednesday7.00am - 9.00pm
Thursday7.00am - 9.00pm
Friday7.00am - 9.00pm
Saturday7.00am - 9.00pm

Dates and deadlines

2020 New World Wine Awards Competition

 

 

Wednesday 10 June

Entries open

Friday 26 June

Entries close at 5pm

Monday 29 June

Confirmation of entries and sample bottle instructions will be emailed to entrants. The invoice for entry fees will be emailed on Tuesday 30 June.

Friday 10 July

Final date for receiving samples and entry fee payment

Arrangements can be made for receiving late samples of new vintage bottlings until Friday 17 July – please contact [email protected]

Monday 20 July to Friday 24 July

First round of judging in the 4 regional hubs

Thursday 30 & Friday 31 July

Second round of judging in Auckland

Monday 3 August

Judging results confirmed by email.
All medal results are confidential and embargoed see below for embargo dates.

Medal stickers available to order.

Suppliers of the 50 top-ranked wines contacted to confirm their wine(s) meet the entry criteria .

Wednesday 5 August

Midday deadline for suppliers of the 50 top-ranked wines to confirm their wine(s) meet the entry criteria.

Thursday 6 August

Full instructions emailed to suppliers of the Top 50 wines that meet the entry criteria for inclusion in the 5-week nationwide promotion.

Friday 7 August

Suppliers of Gold medal-winning wines outside the Top 50 contacted to confirm next steps.

Friday 14 August

For the supplier of each Top 50 wine, by this date:

  • New suppliers to Foodstuffs must complete the documentation to become a Foodstuffs Approved Supplier
  • The product must be set up either via GS1 ProductFlow or Data eXpress (DEX).

Monday 31 August

Medal certificates dispatched by post. This communication will include a pack of 1,000 medal stickers for every Gold and Silver medal winning wine.

THE PUBLIC EMBARGO REMAINS IN PLACE. Wineries can discuss their New World Wine Awards medal wins with New World stores ONLY.

w/c 14 September

Suppliers of Top 50 wines featured in the 5-week nationwide promotion but not already stocked in Foodstuffs Distribution Centres (DC) will receive their first order and delivery details for stock going into the DC. Actual order quantity and delivery date will be confirmed by the relevant Buyer.

Wednesday 23 September

All Top 50 wines must be received at Foodstuffs DC

Date TBC

The public embargo on results is lifted. The date of lifting the public embargo will be confirmed by email from the Competition Director.



Information about the 2020 competition

Conditions of entry - Terms and conditions of entering the 2020 New World Wine Awards.

Classes and volumes - Judging classes and minimum volume requirements for entry.

FAQs - Answers to common questions about the competition.

Overview - Introduction the 2020 New World Wine Awards competition

 


Entries closed 26 June 2020.

All enquiries are welcome and can be directed to the Competition Director: Rachel Touhey, Foodstuffs NZ
[email protected]