Skip to Content

Opening Hours

Today7.30am - 8.30pm
Thursday7.30am - 8.30pm
Friday7.30am - 8.30pm
Saturday7.30am - 8.30pm
Sunday7.30am - 8.30pm
Monday7.30am - 8.30pm
Tuesday7.30am - 8.30pm

Dates and deadlines

Key dates for the 2021 New World Wine Awards competition. 

  

Monday 14 June

Entries open.

Friday 2 July

Entries close at 5pm.

Monday 5 July

Confirmation of entries and sample bottle instructions emailed to entrants.

The invoice for entry fees will be emailed on Tuesday 6 July.

Wednesday 14 July

Final date for receiving samples and entry fee payment.

Arrangements can be made for receiving late samples of new vintage bottlings until Friday 23 July – please contact [email protected]

Tuesday 27, Wednesday 28 and Thursday 29 July

Judging takes place at the Marlborough Convention Centre in Blenheim

Monday 2 August

Judging results confirmed by email. All medal results are confidential and embargoed. The date of lifting the public embargo will be confirmed by email from the Competition Director.

Suppliers of the 50 top-ranked under $25 wines contacted to confirm their wine(s) meet the entry criteria.

Medal stickers available to order

Wednesday 4 August

Midday deadline for suppliers of the 50 top-ranked wines to confirm their wine(s) meet the entry criteria.

Thursday 5 August

Full instructions emailed to suppliers of the Top 50 wines that meet the entry criteria for inclusion in the 5-week nationwide promotion.

Friday 6 August

Suppliers of Gold medal-winning wines outside the Top 50 and suppliers of OVER $25 wines scoring 95+ contacted to confirm next steps.

Friday 13 August

For the supplier of each Top 50 wine, by this date:

  • New suppliers to Foodstuffs must complete the documentation to become a Foodstuffs Approved Supplier
  • The product must be set up either via GS1 ProductFlow or Data eXpress (DEX).

Monday 30 August

Medal certificates dispatched by post. This communication will include a pack of 1,000 medal stickers for every Gold and Silver medal winning wine.

Friday 3 September

Any Top 50 wines imported from overseas must be landed and available in NZ by this date

Date TBC

The public embargo on results is lifted. The date of lifting the public embargo will be confirmed by email from the Competition Director.

 

Information about the 2021 competition

Conditions of entry - Terms and conditions of entering the 2021 New World Wine Awards.

Classes and volumes - Judging classes and minimum volume requirements for entry.

FAQs - Answers to common questions about the competition.

Overview - Introduction the 2021 New World Wine Awards competition

 

Entries closed 2 July 2021.

All enquiries are welcome and can be directed to the Competition Director:
Rachel Touhey, Foodstuffs NZ
[email protected]