Skip to Content

Opening Hours

Today8.00am - 7.00pm
Saturday8.00am - 7.00pm
Sunday8.00am - 7.00pm
Monday8.00am - 7.00pm
Tuesday8.00am - 7.00pm
Wednesday8.00am - 7.00pm
Thursday8.00am - 7.00pm

New World Beer & Cider Awards Hall of Fame

The New World Beer & Cider Awards was launched in 2014 with the objective of finding the best quality commercially available beers & ciders for consumers. This means that every beer & cider entered into the competition by breweries and cideries from New Zealand and overseas must be packaged for sale (so it can’t be available only in kegs) and have a minimum quantity of stock available for New World’s thirsty customers.

For the first four years, entries were judged to Gold, Silver and Bronze medals and the Best in Class / Champions were agreed and awarded. The 14 Best in Class / Champion winners were rewarded with nationwide distribution through New World stores. The awards weren’t judged in 2015 as the competition timing was changed to later in the calendar year.

In 2019 the awards structure changed to the Top 100. The Top 30 entries are recognised and rewarded with nationwide distribution through New World stores, which is a great result for consumers and the winning producers. The next 70 best beers and ciders are awarded Highly Commended, creating a Top 100 list for shoppers to explore.

In 2021, the competition welcomed supermarket-compliant seltzers, alcoholic kombuchas and alcoholic ginger beers entries to reflect changing customer demand and producer ingenuity.

The awards structure has changed over the years, however the objective remains the same with customers looking forward to the results announcement each year.

Below are the historic results of the New World Beer & Cider Awards judging. 

  • 2014 award winners
  • 2016 award winners
  • 2017 award winners
  • 2018 award winners
  • 2019 award winners
  • 2020 award winners
  • 2021 award winners