Skip to Content

Opening Hours

Today8.00am - 8.00pm
Sunday8.00am - 8.00pm
Monday8.00am - 8.00pm
Tuesday8.00am - 8.00pm
Wednesday8.00am - 8.00pm
Thursday8.00am - 8.00pm
Friday8.00am - 8.00pm



Rosé reigns in record-breaking year at 2019 New World Wine Awards 


The rise of rosé shows no signs of slowing after a record-breaking year for the popular pink drop at the 2019 New World Wine Awards. 

 “This was a phenomenal year for rosé, and one that broke every record in our book,” says Chair of Judges Jim Harré. “Not only did we receive more rosé entries than ever before – with 110 wines from all over the world, the quality was exceptional, earning the most medals for rosé in the awards’ history."

Standout in the class was repeat Champion Rosé winner: Madam Sass Central Otago Pinot Noir Rosé 2019. “Known for its striking bottle artwork, which plays homage to the vineyard’s gold rush past, the wine inside is equally impressive with gorgeous flavour and aromas.”


Gold leads way to best wines of all shades 


It is also a fantastic year for consumers to explore the other wines in the New World Wine Awards Top 50.  As well as crowd-pleasers like Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Noir, and repeat winners from well-known wineries across the country, this year’s list boasts exciting new varieties to New Zealand.

Mr Harré says the awards’ robust judging process means consumers can trust a New World Wine Awards medal and have the confidence to try something new.

“To earn a Gold medal, a wine will have been tasted up to 19 times by 11 different judges before being awarded this merit, and Champion wines will have been tasted up to 36 times!”

The New World Wine Awards uses the internationally recognised 100-point system, under which wines are benchmarked and scored against what a perfect wine should be like. All entries are tasted ‘blind’, meaning judges only see the wine in the glass, never a bottle or brand.  Well over a thousand wines entered the 2019 New World Wine Awards. Entries were judged by 17 independent experts over three days to award Gold, Silver and Bronze medals as well as Champion trophies and the Top 50 rankings.


The Champion Wines in the New World Wine Awards 2019


Champion Sauvignon Blanc Wairau River Sauvignon Blanc 2019
Champion Pinot Gris Villa Maria Private Bin East Coast Pinot Gris 2019
Champion Aromatic Coopers Creek Select Vineyards 'Bell-Ringer' Albariño 2019
Champion Chardonnay Stoneleigh Rapaura Marlborough Chardonnay 2018
Champion Sparkling Wine Te Hana Rosé
Champion Rosé Madam Sass Central Otago Pinot Noir Rosé 2019
Champion Pinot Noir Wild Grace Pinot Noir 2017 
Champion Single Varietal Red Yalumba Y Series Tempranillo 2018
Champion Red Blend Chalk Hill Grenache Tempranillo 2018
Champion Shiraz & Syrah Yalumba Y Series Shiraz Viognier 2018